Currently reading: 02.04.21

After almost two months I feel like myself. Almost. I have set up my workspace like a semi professional, finally, and my workspace is now clutter free.

This is my currently reading stack. I plan to finish them tonight, hopefully.

1. Angaaray is pretty awesome. It was quite controversial when it came out back in 1932, and took Urdu literature hy storm. It’s a must read modern classic.

2. Ayako is…weird. in the most bizarre fashion, in Japanese, the word Ayako itself is written with the root character for “odd”. It’s a Japanese comic and this isn’t Manga, that came out in 1972. Highly political, a satire of post WW2 Japan through the happenstance of an agrocentric family thats lost farm lands been in their family for 4 centuries dude to Japan’s agricultural reforms. Amidst this, the family patriarch blackmails his eldest son: lands in exchange for sex with his young wife. The son, the bastard that he is, agrees. And so Ayako is born.

3. A dream of red mansions is one of the four greatest Chinese literary classics. It’s a pretty fast read cause it’s like reading a political soap opera. Also the characters are incredibly dramatic.

Well, that’s been my day. What’s up with yours.

25 thoughts on “Currently reading: 02.04.21

  1. Hello RB.Lovely to see you back. Not reading but organising my wardrobe and bookshelf are my priorities this long Easter Weekend. Happy Easter.

    • Happy Easter to you too. I am pleasantly tired today. You know the one you get after doing something productive? That. So that feels nice.
      How goes the organizing. New stuff or putting things in place. Organizing is always nice and awesome to see/listen to.

  2. Hey RBπŸ‘‹
    Glad to know you feel normal. Or some approximate of that.
    I have yet to feel that way. Life has suddenly turned busy in ways I didn’t expect. I mean, it’s me.. I am lazy at best.
    Is Angaaray a translated version? Or is it available only in Urdu?

Leave a comment